What Stands In The Way of Any President Launching a Nuclear First Strike?


But we can do something about that.

Last fall, Beyond the Bomb was happy to announce our inaugural class of BombSquad fellows, made possible by Ploughshares Fund Women’s Initiative! In 2020 we’re excited to bring aboard the next class of changemakers, movers, and shakers! Meet our 2019 class and read about their work here

Who Are We?

Beyond the Bomb is a people-powered campaign intent on mobilizing grassroots efforts to end nuclear weapons use. Driven by a vision of a planet that has moved Beyond the Bomb, we aim to elevate the voices of affected individuals and marginalized people groups, and foster the diverse communication necessary to achieve this vision.

Through equal parts grassroots mobilization and legislative advocacy, we bring the conversation from the upper echelons of academia to the streets, where everyday citizens can fight for a more peaceful world through policies of denuclearization and nonproliferation.


Who Are You?

Someone who wants to make the world a better place, isn’t afraid to get into the trenches, and is passionate about peace. In 2020, we’re happy to be able to open the fellowship up to people over 18, of any gender. 

We’re seeking paid fellows to make a 4 month commitment to take to the streets and get answers from Presidential candidates and their local representatives. Will they fight for our future and pledge to support No First Use? Along the way you’ll learn all about the nuclear weapons system, from legislation to intersectional looks at the ways nuclear weapons have been harming us for decades. 



Get paid for your time, build key skills to become a stronger activist, and work to protect the world from the threat of nuclear weapons use. We offer a $1000 stipend, a tablet to work with for petitioning, and a network of support. You’ll get one-on-one coaching and a diverse network of other fellows and organizers. Interested in joining the fight against nuclear weapons? Apply by January 30 2020!

In Four Months You’ll…

  • Bird dog Presidential candidates and elected officials to get them on the record about No First Use.
  • Write letters to the editor and a blog post about your work and experience.
  • Build power in your community or on your campus by tabling and petitioning, and start a BombSquad hub.
  • Brainstorm with other fellows during weekly, one hour strategy calls and learn how the nuclear system intersects with other social justice issues, and meet with field organizers once a week to check in.

What’s on the Application?




Cover Letter

Letter of Recommendation (Maximum of one.)

Links to examples of your writing

Essay Questions. 500 word maximum.

  • What aspects of the fellowship gets you the most excited? Do you have any reservations?
  • This fellowship focuses heavily on community outreach, which could mean tabling, canvassing, speaking to groups or going to festivals. Give us one example of a way you know you would be able to speak with members of your community. 
  • What does intersectionality mean to you?
  • Tell us a little about yourself and your background, including why you’re interested in activism. 
  • What is the best gift you’ve ever received, and why?

The Spring Fellowship begins February 10th, apply by January 30th!

Apply By January 30!